Finding distractions

Aforementioned, my mental health is currently at a level where everyday is a struggle. I attended my MH assessment and, without going in to any detail yet, I’m waiting for a consultation and medication review. I have mixed emotions about this at the moment – relief because I now know it isn’t me being paranoid, but worried because…well, wouldn’t you be? I guess that’s natural.

Getting to the point of this post, I’ve been trying to find things to distract my brain. I’ve tried signing up to a mental health blog but just have no clue what to write. I’m currently waiting for a letter from a lady I’ve spoken to on social media (I’m a member of a MH support group) so we can be penpals. I’ve never been much of a reader, so haven’t found any books to distract me. So what can I do? 

Well, I’ve actually found that video gaming helps. More specifically the game ‘Dead Island’. If you’ve never heard of this game, basically, there’s an outbreak of a zombie virus on an island and you have to escape. It helps me to escape reality and it requires a level of concentration that isn’t too straining on the brain. I’ve been playing it so much that I actually completed it in a week. Luckily, there is a choice of 4 characters so I can play it again as someone else.

I think it’s important to find something to keep our minds occupied, otherwise, we’ll be pondering on things that are out of our control. And that’s not good for anybody.

Leave a Reply

