Latest Endeavours

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a very awkward person, and I detest meeting new people. I’ve been this way for as long as I can remember. When it comes to being socially active, I have the social skills of a wet wipe, so the thought of physically meeting someone new scares the shit out of me.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been feeling quite down about myself and my social situation. I’ve had one real friend since 6th form who I still speak to, but as time goes on, I realise we’re growing into 2 very different people – so much so that I struggle to find a topic of conversation anymore. This saddens me alot because I have no other proper friends apart from this person.

So these past few days, I’ve been asking myself ‘how can I make new friends without actually meeting new people?’ and the answer to that is to find a penpal. Yesterday, I signed myself up to a website where you can find people looking for penpals and I’ve already had a positive response. I’ve received emails from around 7 different people, asking if I want to exchange letters with them! Although the idea of introducing myself to a complete stranger is still daunting, I’ve found it a lot easier than if I was to approach these people in person. It will be much easier when we get to know each other more and exchange more and more letters, but for now, I’m concentrating on not making a complete arse of myself by saying something stupid. I know it’s early days but I’m hoping to find some good friends.

If you’re in a similar situation to me and find yourself lacking in the friend department, I would recommend trying a penpal because you can go at your own pace, and you can talk in the comfort of your own home.

I might update you guys in a couple of months if I get anywhere with this endeavour. Let’s see what happens.

Peace and love to you all ✌💚

Leave a Reply

